You must have twenty-four months of active salesperson experience before you can apply for a broker license.
Complete 60 hours of broker pre-license education within the preceding 24 months of passing the examinations. (On this webpage you will find a link to our education providers.)
Broker Pre License Requirements effective 01 01 2020
- Contract Law and Contract Writing - 6 hours
- Iowa Real Estate Trust Accounts - 6 hours
- Principles of Appraising and Market Analysis - 6 hours
- Real Estate Law and Agency Law - 6 hours
- Real Estate Finance - 6 hours
- Federal and State Laws Affecting Iowa Practice - 6 hours
- Real Estate Office Organization, Administration & Human Resources - 12 hours
- Real Estate Technology and Data Security - 6 hours
- Ethics and Safety Issues for Brokers - 6 hours
Successfully pass the state and national portions of the examination. To be eligible for the exam you must have already completed the 60 hours of education mentioned above. Both portions of the exam must be valid at the time the Commission's office receives your application. Exams are valid until the last working day of the sixth month following the exam pass date. Example: A test passed on any day in June of 2020 is valid until December 31, 2020.
Undergo a criminal history and background investigation. Note: This process alone can take up to a minimum of 4 weeks, quite possibly more, and can be started at any time. Criminal history backgrounds are valid for 210 calendar days.
Obtain errors and omissions insurance.
Your application will need to be submitted electronically through your "My Iowa PLB" contact.
The exams are given by appointment only. You must contact Psychological Services, Inc. (PSI) by calling 1-800-733-9267 or on their website to schedule a time and place to take the exam. Exam fees for all exams are $95.00. PSI has testing sites in West Des Moines, Cedar Rapids and Council Bluffs. Please review the PSI Bulletin for addtional information.