1. Home
  2. Iowa Interior Design Examining Board - March 24, 2020 Minutes

Iowa Interior Design Examining Board - March 24, 2020 Minutes

Document Text Content



200 E. Grand, Suite 350, Des Moines |Bureau Conference Room

Tuesday, March 24, 2020 | 1:00 p.m.


The meeting will be conducted via Zoom because of public health recommendations to minimize public gatherings. Public access to the meeting was provided via Zoom.


Board Members present for all or part of the meeting:


Lori Wiles, Chair

Joan Birk

Todd Mitchelman

Katherine Stavneak






Board Members not present for the meeting:



Jay Reyhons

Danielle Williams

Ben Snyder









Lori SchraderBachar, Board Administrator

Danielle Bartkiw, Licensing Specialist

Renee Paulson, PLB Investigator

Caroline Barrett, AAG

Zac Hingst, IDOB Legislative Liaison








     Jennifer Mosley







Call to Order:

Call to Order by Wiles at 1:01 p.m.

Quorum established.


Motion by Mithelman to approve the open session minutes of November 19, 2019.

Seconded by Stavneak.                                                                                               

VOTE: Aye: All                   Nay: None           Abstaining: None            



Motion passed. 



Wiles gave approval for SchraderBachar to sign the minutes on her behalf.



Barrett led the discussion on SF 2393, a bill relating to the granting of professional licenses and criminal offenses. Board members had no issues with this bill.


Barrett lead the discussion on SF-2392. The bill pertains to regulation of unregulated health professions. The proposed bill would require the Board to submit a report every five years to a state government committee. The report would consist of any proposed regulation, the board’s primary purpose, goals and objectives, workloads, number of staff, budgets, etc. for the committee to examine. Members of the Board did not have any issues with the bill.


Hingst joined the conference call at 1:27 p.m.


Hingst and Barrett lead discussion on HF 2582, a bill relating to the practice of interior design. The bill would allow interior designers the ability to stamp interior technical submissions within the scope of interior design practice. Stavneak pointed out that 19 other states currently authorize stamp and seal privileges. Wiles

conferred that many interior designers work for architects or construction companies. The Board is for this bill to pass. However, members did propose to make the verbiage more specific to “Registered Interior Designers”.

Hingst explained to Board members that architects are largely opposed to the bill. Hignst asked Board members to prepare a document describing the difference between the practice of a registered interior designer versus a non-registered interior designer. Additionally, Hignst asked Board members to document what they like about the proposal and how the benefits of the bill would out-weigh the concerns brought up by architects.  SchraderBacher agreed to assist in preparing this document and the discussion will continue at the next board meeting.


Board Member Reports

Wiles reported that she attended legislature and spoke to many architects and interior designers at the Design Day on the Hill event. Wiles explained a lot of the stamp legislation push-back is from architects who are not informed as to what the practice of interior design entails.


Administrative Reports

Assistant Attorney General: Barrett complemented SchraderBachar for her hard work keeping the Board running during the transition to many working from home due to the Coronavirus Guidelines.

Board Administrator: SchraderBachar announced the 193 Adopted Rules went into effect January 22, 2020. SchraderBachar reported she spoke with Monica DeBartolo from NeoCon about CE certificates including “HSW” and that Monica was receptive to the idea. SchraderBachar asked the Board to have their per diems signed and returned to her by next Thursday, 4/2/20.

Licensing Specialist: Bartkiw reported from November 1, 2019 through February 29, 2020 there were no newly registered interior designers and one reinstatement.


Hingst left the meeting at 1:51 p.m.


Governor’s Proclamation – Continuing Education and Renewals

After discussion, as a response to Governor Reynold’s March 22, 2020 Disaster Proclamation

Motion by Stavneak to extend the 2020 renewal of interior design registration until July 31, 2020, allow a late renewal period of August 1st through August 30th, 2020, eliminate the late renewal fee for the 2020 renewal, and allow continuing education for the 2020 renewal to be obtained during the time period of July 1, 2018 through July 31, 2020.

Seconded by Birk.

VOTE: Aye: All                   Nay: None           Abstaining: None            



Motion passed. 



Public Comment

Mosley, an interior designer who will begin a board term on May 1, 2020, stated AIA Iowa may not be correctly informed on the testing interior designers have to go through.


Recognition of Outgoing Board Member

Williams’ term ends on April 30, 2020.


The public dropped off the conference call at 2:30 p.m.


Complaints and Discipline

Closed Session

Motion by Wiles to enter into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(d) and 272C.6(4) at 2:33 p.m. to review pending licensee discipline cases and investigations, including any cases ready for final resolution through closure or consent order.




Seconded by Stavneak.                                                                                               

VOTE: Roll Call: Wiles, aye; Birk, aye; Stavneak, aye; and Mithelman, aye.

Motion passed.


Open Session

Motion by Birk for the Board to return to open session at 2:46 p.m.

Seconded by Mithelman.

VOTE: Roll Call: Wiles, aye; Birk, aye; Stavneak, aye; and Mithelman, aye.

Motion passed.


Motion by Mithelman to accept the signed consent order and close case 19-04, as discussed in closed session, and to authorize SchraderBachar to sign the accepted, signed consent order on Wiles behalf.

Seconded by Stavneak.

VOTE: Aye: All                    Nay: None           Abstaining: None            

Motion passed.


Motion by Birk to find probable cause in cases 19-03 and 20-01.

Seconded by Wiles.

VOTE: Aye: All                    Nay: None           Abstaining: None            

Motion passed.


Upcoming Meetings & Last-Minute Comments

The next meeting is Tuesday, May 19, 2020.

New Board member Jennifer Mosley will attend.

Election of officers and board member training will take place.



Wiles adjourned the meeting at 2:53 p.m.