
      

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF IOWA REAL ESTATE LICENSE 
Iowa Real Estate Commission 

200 E. Grand, Suite 350 ● Des Moines, IA 50309 ● (515) 725-9022 
 

COMPLETE STEPS 1-4 AND RETURN BY MAIL ONLY, OR RENEW ONLINE AT www.licensedInIowa.gov.   

Incomplete forms will be returned unprocessed. 

Renewal Fee if postmarked by December 31, 2016:    
 
Salesperson                $125 Branch                              $50 Add. Broker Officer                $50 
Broker                          $170 Broker Branch                  $50 Tradename                            $50 
Firm                             $170 
 

If postmarked January 1 through 30, 2017, include a $25 penalty (for salespersons and brokers only). 

DO NOT MAIL AFTER JANUARY 30, 2017 
 

License Number:  
(Only one license per renewal form) 
 
 

 

License Type: (mark only  one) 
 

 Tradename       Salesperson        Broker 
 

 Firm                  Firm Branch        Broker Branch   
 

 Additional Broker Officer   

Renewing as: (mark only one) 
 

 Active  or    Inactive 
 

(If you are currently inactive you may not 
renew active.) 

Name on License: 
 

 
Home address if individual or business address if firm renewing (not a P.O. box) including city, state and zip: 
 
 
 

  
 

STEP 1 - VERIFY BASIC INFORMATION 
 

Since the date of your last renewal have you: 
a. Been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense?                                                Yes  or   No 
 b. Had a professional license revoked or been subject to disciplinary action by any 
state board or similar licensing body, including the Iowa Real Estate Commission?     Yes  or   No 
 

c. Any board actions pending?                                                                                        Yes  or   No 
 
If you answered “yes” to any of these questions please attach a complete explanation. 

 
DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER (______) ___________________________________ 

   

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

A.  RESIDENTS OF IOWA AND ALL STATES NOT LISTED 
IN COLUMN B AT RIGHT 

 
 
 

Renewal for salespersons and all brokers licensed: 
 
  8 hours Law Update 
  4 hours Ethics 
24 hours Electives 

 
 

Firms, trade names and branch licenses do not report 
continuing education. 

 

B.  ONLY FOR RESIDENTS OF AL, AR, CO, GA, LA, MN, 
MS, NE, ND, OK, SD, AND TN 

 
A person licensed to practice a profession in this state shall be 
deemed to have complied with the continuing education 
requirement of this state during the periods that the person is a 
resident of another state or district which has a mandatory 
continuing education requirement for the profession and meets 
all requirements of that state or district for practice therein. 
I, ________________________________________ (print name) 
hereby certify that I hold a license to practice real estate in my 
state of residence, which is _________________.  My resident 
state has a mandatory continuing education requirement and I 
maintain the required number of hours to sustain a license in the 
aforementioned state. 
 
__________________________________    _____________ 
                         Signature                                         Date 

INACTIVE STATUS: The regular renewal fee MUST be paid or your license expires. You are NOT required to report continuing education or 
have current errors and omission insurance.  
 

  



      

STEP 2 – REPORT CONTINUING EDUCATION  
 

All reported continuing education must be completed between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2016, and  
PRIOR to submission of this application. 

DO NOT attach course completion certificates. 
 

Mandatory Courses  
Completed 
MM/DD/YY School Name Course Title 

Course 
Number 

Credit 
Hours 

     

     

     

Elective Courses                                                                                                     Total Mandatory Hours Reported  
Completed 
MM/DD/YY School Name Course Title 

Course 
Number 

Credit 
Hours 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
                                                                                                                               

Total Elective Hours Reported 
 

 

Was exam taken in lieu of continuing education?     Yes  or    No  (If yes please include pass notices) 
 

Did you attempt to renew on line?                                 Yes  or    No 

STEP 3 - SIGN AND CERTIFY YOUR RENEWAL 
 
I, ____________________________________________________ (print name) hereby certify the following: 
 
It is my responsibility to maintain continuing education records that support all classes I reported above.  In the event my renewal report is audited, I will supply 
said records to the Iowa Real Estate Commission. 
 
Check one of the following: 
 
        I am renewing my license to an active status.  I attest that I will maintain uninterrupted errors and omissions insurance while actively licensed, pursuant to 
Iowa Code Chapter 543B.47. I understand that a failure on my part to maintain uninterrupted errors and omission insurance coverage while actively licensed may 
subject me to disciplinary action to include a civil penalty up to $2,500.  

 
        I am renewing my license to an inactive status.  I am not required to maintain errors and omissions insurance per Iowa Code Chapter 543B.47. 
 
I hereby affirm that all information I have supplied is true and correct. 
 
 

 
                                Signature                                                                                                                            Date  



      

STEP 4 - INDICATE PAYMENT METHOD 
(This Page will be destroyed after processing.) 

 
   
    Check (Made payable to: Iowa Real Estate Commission)        Payment Amount $ ___________ 
                                       OR 
    VISA, MASTERCARD or DISCOVER only                              Card Number ________-________-________-________ 
 
 
Name of Cardholder _________________________________         Expiration (Month/Year)  _____/_____ 
 
 
Signature of Cardholder ______________________________         Phone Number (______) _______-_________ ext________ 

 
 

THE BELOW INFORMATION IS REQUIRED FOR PROCESSING 
 
 

Email Address:  
 
Date of Birth  ______/________/_________     
 
Social Security Number of Licensee:  __________________________________ 
 
Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this license application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13), Iowa Code §§ 261.126(1), 
252D.8(1), 272J.8(1) and 193 IAC 4.4.  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations, college student loan obligations, 
and debts owed to the state of Iowa, and as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may also be shared with taxing authorities as allowed bylaw 
including Iowa Code § 421.18.   
 
 

  



      

 

Important Renewal Tips 
 
 

1. Make sure to provide all information requested and answer all questions asked. 
 
2. Qualifying continuing education MUST be completed between January 1, 2014 and December 

31, 2016 and prior to you completing your renewal.  
 
You DO NOT have a 30-day grace period to complete education.   
 
If you do not have your continuing education done by December 31, 2016, you must renew to 
inactive status.  (There are no educational requirements for corporations, partnerships, 
tradenames, or branch licenses.) 

 
3. If you are a non-Iowa resident and licensed in a state Iowa has continuing education 

reciprocity with (these states are listed) you should complete section “B” of the Continuing 
Education Requirements section on your renewal form instead of Step 3 on the paper renewal 
form.   
 
On-line renewals would complete the Out of State Affidavit. 

 
4. Submit correct fee – check, money order or credit card (Visa, MasterCard and Discover only).  

The correct fee can be found on the paper renewal form.  Make checks and money orders 
payable to the “State of Iowa”.  On-line renewals will automatically be charged the correct fee. 

 
5. To avoid a late fee your renewal must be POSTMARKED (not metered) by December 31, 

2016 or completed on-line no later than midnight of December 31, 2016.   If your renewal is 
postmarked or completed on-line January 1, 2017 thru January 30, 2017 you will need to 
include a $25.00 late fee (salesperson and broker licenses only) and you shall not practice real 
estate between 01/01/17 and the date your renewal is processed. 

 
6. If your license is inactive, you must still renew and pay the license fee if you do not wish your 

license to expire.  If you renew inactive, you are not required to have continuing education or 
E&O insurance.  

 
7. You cannot use the renewal form to transfer to another broker or firm. 
 
8. Trade-name, branch and additional broker officer licenses all have the same expiration date as 

the main license.  Make sure to renew all your licenses, if applicable. 
 
9. You must have current E & O insurance to renew to the active status (salespersons, brokers, 

and firms) and attest that you will maintain uninterrupted coverage as long as your license is 
on active status according to the Real Estate Commission’s licensing database. 

 
10. Incomplete paper renewals WILL BE RETURNED unprocessed to you for corrections. 
 
11. Call 515-725-9022 or e-mail realestatecommission@iowa.gov if you have any questions. 
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